Stunning flower gardens that bloom through the seasons depend on the artful combination of annuals, perennials, and bulbs. In this lavishly illustrated book, Anne Halpin shows the reader how to grow these plants and gives foolproof design techniques for any landscape. The extensive section on using color in the garden can guide you through the tricky process of plant placement and selection. Practical techniques are emphasized, too. The reader will learn how to care for soil, start plants from seeds, grow and care for plants in containers, and maintain plants and gardens. Sections on dividing plants, lifting bulbs, and saving seeds are also included.
It may seem counterintuitive to want bugs in a garden, but insects are indeed valuable garden companions. Especially those species known for eating the bugs that eat plants. Assassin bugs, damsel bugs, and predatory stink bugs are all carnivores that devour the bugs that dine on a garden. Attracting Beneficial Bugs to Your Garden is a book about bugs and plants, and how to create a garden that ben¬efits from both. In addition to information on companion planting and commercial options for purchasing bugs, there are 19 detailed bug profiles and 39 plant profiles. The bug profiles include a description, a photograph for identification, an explanation of what they do for the garden, and the methods gardeners can use to attract them. The plant profiles highlight the best plants for attracting beneficial bugs and offer detailed information on size, care requirements, zone information, and bloom time. Design plans show gardeners how to design a border specifically for the bugs. This complete, hands-on guide is for anyone looking for a new, natural, and sustainable way to control pests.
Composting is green gardening at its best: it helps protect plants from diseases and pests, creates especially rich soil, and releases its nutrients slowly as plants need them. Now completely updated and redesigned, Brooklyn Botanic Garden's essential, bestselling guide contains the latest information on modern composting techniques, from what to put in the pile to how best to use your compost in the garden. An expanded resource section features special advice for urban gardeners.
Love the idea of growing your own fruits, flowers, and vegetables but don't think you have the space? Don't worry, let Fine Gardening, America's most respected gardening magazine, show you how to make your small space work for you and your plants. This inspiring new book from the editors of Fine Gardening magazine shares the most popular design ideas and easy planting solutions for creating gardens with less dirt and less square footage than you ever imagined. From high yielding, small-space vegetable gardens to decorative small spaces that appear larger than they are by making the best use of the landscape, this primer is full of design ideas--it even contains lists of suggested plants. Fine Gardening Pocket Gardens is packed with eye-catching small garden designs, advice on choosing the best plants for your space and locale, and strategies for keeping plants healthy and lush in cramped environments.
Discover the essential techniques to growing more than 60 vegetables, fruits, herbs and flowers in containers. With this book you can use the best varieties and techniques to turn the tiniest space into a productive and attractive growing space. Follow 30 tried-and-tested 'recipes' to choose top-tasting combinations such as growing tomato with basil, vegetables that thrive in small spaces, and grow-your-own fruit salads. Discover the essential techniques that every container gardener needs to know, and use the crop directory to find out the best way to grow more than 60 vegetables, fruits, salads, herbs and edible flowers. This is the sixth title in the bestselling Grow Your Own series.
From planting herbs to creating a kitchen garden, How to Grow Practically Everything gives beginning gardeners the confidence to grow flowers, fruits, and more. Whether readers want to grow a lemon from a seed, care for a houseplant, or plant a rose arch, each gardening project is presented with clear instructions and photography, sharing the best time to plant, when to expect results, and the equipment and time required.
A colorful guide covering the basics of replacing a traditional lawn with a wide variety of easy-care, no-mow, drought-tolerant, money-saving options that will appeal to todays busy, eco-conscious homeowner. Americans pour 300 million gallons of gas and 1 billion hours every year into mowing their lawns, not to mention 70 million pounds of pesticides and $40 billion for lawn upkeep. No Wonder the anti-lawn movement is thriving, as todays eco-conscious consumers realize that their traditional lawns are water-hogging, chemical-ridden, maintenance-intensive burdens.Lawn Gone!,from award-winning gardening blogger Pam Penick, is the first basic introduction to low-water, easy-care lawn alternatives for beginning gardeners, written in a friendly style with an approachable package. It covers all the available time-saving options: alternative grasses, ground cover plants, artificial turf, hardscaping, mulch, and more. In addition, it includes step-by-step lawn-removal methods, strategies for dealing with neighbors and homeowner associations, and how to minimize your lawn if youre not ready to go all the way.
Beautiful gardens are generally thought to be true labors of love, often demanding hours of tedious routine maintenance. Planting requirements can be daunting, and finding the time to successfully cultivate a home garden is a tall order for most of us--constant watering, debris removal, and tiresome pruning are not at the top of our wish lists. Luckily, it doesn't have to be this way: a carefully selected plant variety can give you all the enjoyment and curb appeal of a gorgeous, painstakingly tended garden with none of the wrist pain. Plant This Instead! tips you off to 75 lesser-known plant types that will thrive naturally in various microclimates, depending on where you live in the United States--featuring native and non-invasive plants, hardy alternatives to less sturdy species, new introductions, repeat bloomers, and other helpful varieties. Renowned garden designer and photographer Troy B. Marden offers clear-cut, side-by-side comparisons of these superior plant choices to the more common, fussier kinds. He incorporates original photography and identifies regionally appropriate selections, demonstrating which climates are friendly to which plants and ensuring that no matter your location, you'll be able to capitalize on his expert advice. Most importantly, Marden alerts you to some of gardening's most harmful misconceptions, explaining why you shouldn't copy professional landscapers and how placing a ten-dollar plant in the wrong place could cost you thousands of dollars. Planting a beautiful garden shouldn't be a chore--and with Plant This Instead!, it won't be.
Perfect for people who have little space to garden, whether a doorstep, balcony, or part of a wall. Small Space Garden Ideas is full of creative ideas for making use of every growing space available. From windowsills and hanging baskets to rooftop containers and vertical gardens, Small Space Garden Ideas shows you how to create a dream garden, through step-by-step projects from start to finish.
Teeny Tiny Gardening is horticulture on the smallest of scales. No matter how tiny your space - indoor or outdoor, garden, yard, balcony or even just a windowsill or tabletop - here you will find original, fun and inspiring ideas. The 35 projects range from an elegant fern terrarium and a scented spring bulb basket to colourful woven bags and hessian sacks filled with cheerful summer blooms. There are edible gardens, including fruit bushes planted in catering-sized kitchen pans and a vertical garden of herbs grown on a wooden stepladder. You will find lots of ideas for using recycled and salvaged containers, such as a metal bathtub filled with vegetable plants, metal food tins used for an indoor garden of wildflowers and a stack of wooden drawers filled with trailing plants. And at the teeniest end of the scale, there are even miniature tabletop gardens created in eggshells and bottle tops! Children can learn basic gardening skills, too, by following the step-by-step photos to make their own magical fairy garden or a mysterious dinosaur den. Whether you are looking for ideas for all-year foliage or for a summer display of flowers, wanting to grow your own veggies and herbs, or needing to revamp your balcony, Teeny Tiny Gardening will provide you with all the inspiration and practical knowledge you need.
Two bestselling books-now in one comprehensive volume! Together, The Art & Craft of Stonescaping and The Art & Craft of Stonework make up the best beginner-friendly guide available for anyone wanting to build stone walls (freestanding, retaining, dry-stacked or mortared), steps, benches, paths, patios, and borders. Any duplication in the tools and technique chapters has been eliminated, while a brand-new gallery of projects offers ideas and inspiration. Featuring lots of how-to photos, informative illustrations, and practical projects, this giant resource is a must-have for homeowners' reference libraries.
Typically, vegetable gardening is about the long view: peas sown in spring aren't harvested until summer, and tomatoes started indoors in February can't be eaten until July. But it's not true for all plants. Some things can be planted and eaten in weeks, days, even hours. The Speedy Vegetable Garden highlights more than 50 quick crops, with complete information on how to sow, grow, and harvest each plant, and sumptuous photography that provides inspiration and a visual guide for when to harvest. In addition to instructions for growing, it also provides recipes that highlight each crop's unique flavor, like Chickpea sprout hummus, stuffed tempura zucchini flowers, and a paella featuring calendula. Sprouted seeds are the fastest. Microgreens can be harvested in weeks: cilantro, 14 days after planting; arugula and fennel in 10 days. And a handful of vegetable varieties grow more quickly than their slower relatives, like dwarf French beans (60 days), cherry tomatoes (65 days), and early potatoes (75 days). The Speedy Vegetable Garden puts fresh, seed-to-table food at your fingertips, fast!
The easy way to succeed at urban gardening A townhouse yard, a balcony, a fire escape, a south-facing window--even a basement apartment can all be suitable locations to grow enough food to save a considerable amount of money and enjoy the freshest, healthiest produce possible. Urban Gardening For Dummies helps you make the most of limited space through the use of proven small-space gardening techniques that allow gardeners to maximize yield while minimizing space. Covers square-foot gardening and vertical and layered gardening Includes guidance on working with container gardening, succession gardening, and companion gardening Offers guidance on pest management, irrigation and rain barrels, and small-space composting If you're interested in starting an urban garden that makes maximum use of minimal space, Urban Gardening For Dummies has you covered.
Librarians know books - so why not let us help you find your next great read? Just answer a few quick questions about your reading preferences and we'll put together a personalized book list for you - and deliver it straight to your inbox!