Tilly's friends are all going to exciting places for their vacations, but she is staying at home. Mom says they'll have a great time together, but Tilly thinks it's impossible to have any vacation fun at home! Or is it?
When James and Eamon go to a week of Nature Camp and stay at Eamon's grandparents' house, their free time is spent staying inside, eating waffles, and playing video games. But sometimes things work out best when they don't go exactly as planned.
This Caldecott Honor-winning book is a moving and hilarious celebration of young boys, childhood friendships, and the power of the imagination, capturing the very essence of summer vacation and what it means to be a kid.
When wind chimes start singing and clouds race across the sky, one little guy knows just what to do - grab his kite!
But as the kite soars, the wind picks up even more, and soon he and his grandma are chasing the runaway kite into town. As they pass swirling leaves, bobbing boats, and flapping scarves, breezes become gusts and the sky darkens. Rain is on the way! Can they squeeze in one more adventure before the downpour?
Summer is going well. Don't worry, I am not forgetting about my studies.
A young boy corresponds with his grandfather, assuring him that even though it is summer, he is not slacking off! He is reading (ice cream flavors). He is writing (an ice cream book). He is practicing math (counting scoops and determining how many he will eat before school starts). He is learning about great inventors (such as the creator of the ice cream cone).
Readers will love the clever interplay of words and pictures as they see what Grandpa can't: All the boy's activities involve ice cream! This funny, affectionate inter-generational story, with pity text and sherbet-coloured artwork, is a delicious celebration of everyone's favourite summertime treat.
Mom and Dad have no TV, no computers, and no plans while staying in the family cabin by the lake. So, it's up to Lily and her brother to keep their parents entertained during this summer vacation.
In all, Lily and her brother provide thirty-eight crafts, games, recipes, and activities that ensure an interactive cure for cabin fever.
While away a rainy day, test your skills and stretch your imaginations--with games. Over 70 games cover the full gamut, from old-fashioned favorites to today's high-tech games. Intricate clapping games, bike rodeo, Google Earth challenges, croquet golf, capture the flag, and the best ever apps to play with Grandma, are only a few. Learn how all games can be self-customized; you can even make up your own games. Illustrated in full color throughout. Soon, there will be a whole shelf of serious fun the whole family can enjoy indoors, outdoors, online and offline.
Accompanied by photo tutorials and helpful step-by-step instructions, these projects are kid-friendly and offer a variety of options for both beginning and more advanced DIY fans. Be inspired and discover the endless possibilities with the world's most famous jar!
Packed with all kinds of exciting outdoor activities for the whole family, to encourage awareness of the natural world, to develop self-sufficiency skills , and to show how much fun it is to explore nature. The activities include: tracking skills; wildlife spotting; foraging for wild food and cooking outdoors; stargazing; outdoor games; how to mimic birdsong; how to make whistles and peashooters from elder stems; how to make plaster-cast animal tracks; nature collections and making art from nature finds. With full-page pictures and a glossary at the back, this is the book you need when you go out in the park or countryside.
Try these kid-friendly, money saving, quick and easy recipes using four or fewer ingredients! Fully illustrated with gorgeous photographs, 4 Ingredients Kids features eighty quick, easy, and delicious recipes that require only four ingredients, and are designed to excite kids and encourage participation in the kitchen. It includes helpful sections on healthy eating habits, kitchen safety and hygiene, and has loads of party ideas, all tested by Kim's three young sons. As for the recipes, think Spaghetti Cupcakes, Partysicles, Dinosaur Eggs, Pizzadillas, and Taco Popcorn. Think smiles, fun, and full tummies for even the fussiest eaters. Here is a go-to guide for busy parents, full of recipes kids will ask for time and again.
Michael Devine, a well-known taste-maker, shows how the garden can be a perfect setting to stage events in every season. Devine shares the joys of outdoor dining in his exquisite garden, presenting several get-togethers throughout the year-from breakfast and lunch to cocktails and dinner. Included are easy-to-prepare recipes as well as lots of ideas for creating festive tablescapes and decor for each occasion, from an iridescent butterfly-themed summer luncheon to a Christmas Eve feast in his cozy candlelit garden folly. Each garden event is chic and infused with whimsical effects.This book provides expert guidance and inspiration for readers looking to create their own stylish outdoor parties with ease, whether they are city dwellers with a small plot of land or the owners of country property.
Never again will you hear the all-too-common call of, "I'm bored!" with this kid-pleaser for many ages. There are hundreds of fun, educational, and engaging things to
do in this book; there are time-tested, exciting activities to keep your children laughing and learning for the whole day, every day.
Holly Homer and Rachel Miller are the women behind the website KidsActivitiesBlog.com, which gets more than 2 million hits a month.
One-of-a-kind activities--never before seen on the blog--range from making edible play dough and homemade sidewalk chalk to playing shoebox pinball and creating a balance beam obstacle course. And with outdoor and indoor activities and tips for adjusting according to your child's age, this book will provide hours and hours of never-ending fun with your family.
For the past few years, Thompson has spent his weekends starting fires, building cannons, and experimenting with dry ice and liquid nitrogen. He's made pumpkins explode, defied gravity, and discovered countless ways to make everyday life easier using ordinary items such as butter, suntan lotion, cupcake wrappers, and aluminum foil.
Here, Thompson has compiled the best of his weekend projects in Life Hacks; you'll see how easy it is to have better summers, less stressful holidays, and cooler--literally--birthday parties.
When David Sobel’s children were toddlers, he set out to integrate a wide range of nature experiences into their family life, play, and storytelling. Blending his passion as a parent with his professional expertise, he created adventures tailored to their developmental stages: cultivating empathy with animals in early childhood, exploring the woods in middle childhood, and devising rites of passage in adolescence. As we share this family's experiences, we observe how wild play in nature hones a sense of wonder, provides healthy challenges, and nurtures Earth stewardship.
There's nothing like eating outdoors to capture your sense of adventure, and add a flair to the food--whether you are entertaining a relaxed crowd of friends and family or preparing a romantic feast for two.
Hit the beach for a cook-out, or host a teddy bears picnic for little ones.
On a balmy summers eve, hang paper lanterns from trees and serve an Asian-inspired picnic, or lay luxurious rugs and evoke a sense of the middle east with a meze platter and spiced citrus couscous.
Warm up during a fall walk in the woods with a thermos of spiced squash soup and slabs of zingy Jamaican ginger cake, or dream of sunnier climes with a Provencal-inspired feast.
Whatever the occasion, A Perfect Day fora Picnic is your guide to enjoying outdoor life.
Refresh your life with a tiny little adventure that's close to home and easy on your pocket. Inspiration is abundant in this brilliant and beautifully-illustrated guide, perfect for summer holiday activities.
With the one-of-a-kind projects in 150+ Screen-Free Activities for Kids, your family will rediscover the spirit of imaginative play! These fun activities help develop your child's creativity and skills--all without a screen in sight. Featuring step-by-step instructions and beautiful photographs, each budget-friendly project will keep your child entertained, engaged, and learning all day long.
Cook, craft, and create with recipes, projects, and ideas from the enormously popular blog "SixSistersStuff.com." Camille, Kristen, Elyse, Stephanie, Lauren, and Kendra are six sisters who share their easy, affordable recipes and crafts in this collection of family favorites. These pages contain more than 80 tried-and-true recipes that use ingredients commonly found in your pantry, with easy-to-follow instructions and photographs of each dish. Charming do-it-yourself projects, such as stained Mason Jars and a Ruffles and Yarn Wreath, are fun to create and require little time or money. Suggestions for indoor activities for kids, healthy snack ideas, or an inexpensive night out are among the many lists included in the book.
A taste of the good life! This bite-size collection showcases 20 special recipes, all with photographs, that will inspire food lovers to take the party outside. Selected from some of Chronicle Books' best-loved cookbooks, here are easy drinks (alcoholic and nonalcoholic), quick appetizers, simple salads and sides, and great-for-the-grill main dishes. Whether it's the South Seas Sangria, Corn with Chipotle Butter, or the Honey-Glazed Spareribs that beckon, everything tastes better out on the patio. And grilling will be all the more relaxing for the cook who has this just-right repertoire at hand.
The Ultimate Book of BBQ builds on the expertise of Southern Living magazine to create the definitive barbecue and outdoor grilling guide. The book features more than 200 of the highest-rated Southern Living recipes for barbecued meats and sides, plus pit-proven tips, techniques, and secrets for year-round smoking, grilling and barbecuing. With full color, step-by-step photos and mouthwatering recipes, this book includes everything the home cook needs to achieve first-rate backyard barbecue.
Lomelino's Ice Cream is your guide to all things sweet, creamy, icy, indulgent, and homemade. Linda Lomelino, the stylish blogger at the helm of Call Me Cupcake!, is a kitchen wizard who crafts ice cream so beautiful and delicious you can almost taste it melting on your tongue as you read. Learn to make sinfully smooth ice creams, cool sorbets, and chunky-nutty-chocolaty frozen treats; not to mention ice-cream cakes, floats, sauces, meringues, and crumbles to top it all off.
Here are stylish, innovative projects that promise endless hours of creative fun. A collection of projects for things kids want to make--and keep--from a juice-box owl to a pirate ship to a curio cabinet for displaying all of their treasures, plus games, jewelry, and more. Also included in the book are basic crafting lessons (such as pom-pom making and weaving) to help children of all ages build a DIY arsenal, a handy guide to must-have tools and materials, and a source directory.
Librarians know books - so why not let us help you find your next great read? Just answer a few quick questions about your reading preferences and we'll put together a personalized book list for you - and deliver it straight to your inbox!